What am I doing here?

I took this job because it was managerial, but I find now that I’m a manager of no one. I took this job because I was supposed to be handling the project management and strategic aspects of the company’s online tools, but then I found out that the tools are incomplete, unsupported, and held together by chewing gum and paperclips. I was supposed to be in charge of managing the workflow, but all I do is argue unsuccessfully with the technology.

And now it’s impacting client deadlines. And of course our trusty outside web developer is busy with other projects given the time of year.

This sucks ass.  I told them I wasn’t a developer when I was hired. Apparently I was speaking Mandarin, because it doesn’t seem to have made much of an impression.

I’ve got to find another job.  Got to. This isn’t working for me, and I obviously lack the skillset that they really need. But then, real developers cost real money, so I can see why I was suckered into this. I don’t think this is intentional deception, but I do think that it’s even more horrible that when they looked at their needs and the recommendation of the all-too-capable person prior to me they decided to go looking for someone who didn’t fit the bill at all. They needed a web developer and hired a project manager. Who doesn’t code.

What a fucking mess. For this I’ve been stressing all semester? And good luck finding another job around the holidays.

Fucking mess indeed.  Why do I end up in these situations all the time? Is it because I just come across as competent, or because I’m working off one hell of a load of karma from a past life? Ah well.

One response to “What am I doing here?

  1. I feel you. After 7 years (or is it 8 now?), I’ve finally convinced folks that I (nor the rest of our staff) have the back-end DBA skills necessary to run one of our biggest IT projects on campus, Blackboard. We’re finally considering it mission critical and are moving to hosting outside. So now I can get back to what I do- instructional design and faculty development, rather than being a code monkey.*

    * There is NOTHING wrong with being a code monkey, unless you aren’t one. In that case, there are few things worse (for you or your organization) than being expected to be a code monkey.

Leave a Reply

